Menu
Valley Park School
Believe, Achieve, Succeed

Home Learning

Easter Fun at Home

 

Keeping active

 

Following the closure of public parks and playgrounds and the restrictions placed on going outside - we thought it would be great to share these great videos with you. For a fun and interactive way to keep young people exercising, visit: https://www.youtube.com/thebodycoachtv 

 

 

Twinkl 

 

To ensure the continuity of education during school closures, so that no children miss out on valuable learning time, Twinkl is offering all schools access to Twinkl resources with a One Month Ultimate Membership, totally free of charge.

 

This offer has also been extended to every parent and carer, so that our pupils can still have access to high-quality learning during any periods of disruption. Setting this up is really easy to do - go to www.twinkl.co.uk/offer and enter the code UKTWINKLHELPS

For more information about how to access Twinkl and their range of resources, download the guide below: 

 

 

Home Learning Packs - https://kids.classroomsecrets.co.uk/ 

Classroom secrets provide home learning resources and have now launched a website especially for children to access. 

 

 

Below is a non-exhaustive list, compiled by home educators, that might help those affected by school closures:

 

Amazon Audible - https://stories.audible.com/start-listen 

An incredible collection of books and audio stories for children and students of all ages - free for as long as schools are closed. 

 

David Walliamshttps://www.worldofdavidwalliams.com/elevenses/

A free audio story will be released every day for the next 30 days, providing an opportunity to further develop creativity and language skills.   

 

Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org
Especially good for maths and computing for all ages but other subjects at Secondary level. Note this uses the U.S. grade system but it's mostly common material.

 

BBC Learning - http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/
This site is old and no longer updated and yet there's so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No TV licence required except for content on BBC iPlayer.

 

Futurelearn - https://www.futurelearn.com
Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).

 

Seneca - https://www.senecalearning.com
For those revising at GCSE or A level. Tons of free revision content. Paid access to higher level material.

 

Openlearn - https://www.open.edu/openlearn/
Free taster courses aimed at those considering Open University but everyone can access it. Adult level, but some e.g. nature and environment courses could well be of interest to young people.

 

Blockly - https://blockly.games
Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.

 

Scratch - https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/
Creative computer programming.

 

Ted Ed - https://ed.ted.com
All sorts of engaging educational videos.

 

National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/
Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

 

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com
Learn languages for free via web or app.

 

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com
Free science lessons.

 

The Kids Should See This - https://thekidshouldseethis.com
Wide range of cool educational videos.

 

Crash Course - https://thecrashcourse.com
You Tube videos on many subjects.

 

Crash Course Kids - https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids
As above for a younger audience.

 

Crest Awards - https://www.crestawards.org
Science awards you can complete from home.

 

iDEA Awards - https://idea.org.uk
Digital enterprise award scheme you can complete online.

 

Paw Print Badges - https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.

 

Tinkercad - https://www.tinkercad.com
All kinds of making.

 

Prodigy Maths - https://www.prodigygame.com
Is in U.S. grades, but good for UK Primary age.

 

Cbeebies Radio - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio
Listening activities for the younger ones.

 

Nature Detectives - https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetect…/
A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!

 

British Council - https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find
Resources for English language learning.

 

Oxford Owl for Home - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/
Lots of free resources for Primary age.

 

Big History Project - https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home
Aimed at Secondary age. Multi disciplinary activities.

 

Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html
Geography gaming!

 

Blue Peter Badges - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges
If you have a stamp and a nearby post box.

 

The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/
Good, free art activities.

 

Red Ted Art - https://www.redtedart.com
Easy arts and crafts for little ones.

 

The Imagination Tree - https://theimaginationtree.com
Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.

Top